An Ode to Andy Warhol and the Healing Power of Tomato Soup

Hello, Dear Friends. I’ve missed catching up with you this week. My week has been a whirlwind of Professional Toad Kissing, where I’ve had to apply my Mastery in a foreign culture and environment. I’m trying hard to adapt to the water in this new pond, and I’ve come to understand more clearly why we ease a goldfish into new waters by sheltering them in a plastic bag filled with familiar. I now feel very sorry and want to apologize to the fish I won at my 3rd grade school carnival – I’m sorry, Ernie, for dumping you into that big and scary fish bowl without your bubble.

That being said – I survived. I kissed the toads, and I’m learning to share my lily pad. But what I am learning most is why the Art of Toad Kissing isn’t simply for Online Dating or other romantic involvements. Nope – We’ve talked before together that we kiss our amphibious friends at work as well as in our personal relationships. We’ve also mentioned that one person’s toad may be another’s handsome prince – in the office is no exception.

So let me share with you a little more about me. Professionally, I’ve reached high-powered roles where I’m viewed with credibility, integrity and expertise. I’m the biggest toad on the lily pad. However, this week I find myself in an area where I have to start from scratch and take my beatings all over again. I’m put in a pond with so many strange toads, and I am now no more than a tadpole within an unfamiliar area of my company.

My new role is incredibly exciting even if I’ve been reincarnated as the smallest aquatic larvae in the pond. I get to swim with the big fish as long as I dodge being somebody else’s breakfast.

This week was filled with Power Lunches in our Nation’s Beltway, and I’ve been humbled to be in meetings with Legacy Toad Kissers more impressive than I could have imagined. The cool thing about being in those meetings, though, was that I actually had my voice. I had something to say, and these Legacy Toad Kissers were willing to listen to me. Wow!

As I come home this morning, a Saturday of pure exhaustion, the only Power Lunch I want is grilled cheese with a steaming bowl of tomato soup. And I want to share it with my Prince Charming. Thank goodness he thought to pick up a loaf of bread while I was away.

In short, dear friends, Grilled Cheese and Tomato soup is simply the best form of “Feel Better” that I could ever recommend. And if you’re lucky, you can eat it while still wearing fuzzy slippers and flannel pajamas. Campbells, I’m starting to understand why Andy Warhol found you so beautiful.

And for you, my dear friends and family, a quote from Mr. Warhol which I found on the exclusive Christie’s Auction House website:

“Famously, when Warhol was asked about why he chose to paint Campbell’s soup cans, he explained that it had personal significance to him as a consumer, ‘Because I used to drink it. I used to have the same lunch every day, for twenty years, I guess, the same thing over and over again. Someone said my life has dominated me; I liked that idea’ (A. Warhol, quoted in I’ll Be Your Mirror: The Selected Andy Warhol Interviews, p. 18).”

Need I say more than, Thank You, Mr. Warhol, and Thank You Campbells for providing a Lunch of Champions!

Reference: http://www.christies.com/features/2010-october-andy-warhol-campbells-soup-can-tomato-1022-1.aspx

8 thoughts on “An Ode to Andy Warhol and the Healing Power of Tomato Soup

  1. Terrific piece, especially the Ode part. Ah, tomato soup. And that it is condensed, which I have long forgotten. Warhol was a genius, if not a little boring in his food choices.

  2. Your wordplay is brilliantly inspiring, and my only advise to give is to keep writing H, and you’ll never have to work again.

Care to Share?

