Confidence Booster from Robin Roberts

“When I started I was 19 and scared. Today, I am 44 and….Fierce!”

Photo Credits: ABC John LeMay

Wow! What a statement. The sentiment that has taken me 25 blog posts to try to convey, Faith Hill summed up the story with a Finish this Sentence interview question posed by Robin Roberts.

This dynamic 44-year-old country singer and mega-star has evolved into a person who can feel comfortable in her own skin. To me, that is the most admirable trait about her. Yes, she has sold over a gazillion albums. Sure, she has managed an endearing character or two on the big screen. Definitely, she found her own devastatingly handsome PC. They seem to have a family life that we all would hope to emulate. But, WOW, she is comfortable in her own skin – greatest accomplishment to date.

Photo by Donna Svennevik, courtesy of ABC.

Last night, PC and I watched In the Spotlight with Robin Roberts where she interviewed several of Country Music’s biggest stars. For me, Faith was clearly the one to watch. I wouldn’t normally blog about celebrity gossip – I have no interest in Baby Bieber’s possible baby. But when someone stands up and says something so seemingly honest, I take notice. Faith’s statement took guts, but the words came so naturally to her. I want that feeling for myself, and I wish that type of confidence for each of you as well.

With that being said Ms. Roberts, may I borrow your interview question and ask my friends to complete this sentence? Your interview inspired me. I’d say this particular sentence is a strong Confidence Booster without needing any additional props.

Ladies and gentlemen, please complete this sentence:

When I started I was 19 and scared. Today I am (age) and _________! I’ll start.

When I started, I was 19 and scared. Today I am 41 and Formidable!

Photo courtesy of My Mom! MBA Graduation

Ok, everybody. Your turn! Let’s see what you’ve got.

Kind Regards,

Heidi Lee

8 thoughts on “Confidence Booster from Robin Roberts

  1. Ha! They won’t let me watch the link as I appear to be outside the US. Which, of course, I am. Still not fair, though 🙂

    That is such a great theme! Why worship callow youth when you can focus on fabulous women? Men are seen as sexy when the white at the temple appears. It’s a sign that wisdom and status and riches have been gained. Beauty always was in the eye of the beholder. Who exactly is it that says women over 40 are not beautiful?

    Right, my turn. When I started, I was 21 and clueless. Today, I’m 53 and unstoppable!

    Juliet 🙂

  2. Wonderful post. We are such babies, wide eyed and bushy tailed, and then we storm the front lines and oft forget what we are capable of, but… we remember, and when we do, we’re damn near unstoppable. Rock on woman, and shameless promotion is good. I

Care to Share?

