Toad Kissing Holiday Tip: Know Your Man’s Fave Home Made Christmas Treat

A fresh-baked welcome to all of my friends!

With the holidays only a week away, my kitchen smells of warmed vanilla and spiced apricots. I’m in heaven this time of year because I get an excuse to bake every kind of cookie imaginable – and then eat them 🙂

This is my second Christmas as Mrs. PC, and my second round at creating strong family memories. I’m truly blessed.

I’m sure you know, ladies, that all men whether princes or toads, have a favorite Christmas Cookie that their Moms used to make. And I’d bet that you feel like your cookies will never match up against their Sainted mothers’.

I happen to be fortunate that my Mother-in-Law is happy to pass the wooden spoon to my kitchen and hand over responsibility for her famous Gum Drop Cookies – trusting that I will do the gooey morsels the justice they have earned. Thanks, Ma! Love ya!

And without asking for her blessing, I’d love to share the recipe with each of you. I’ll warn you up front, though, these things take serious effort unless your guy is in the kitchen helping you bake.

 Loretta’s Gum Drop Delights

•1 Cup Shortening

•1 Cup Sugar

•1 Cup Brown Sugar

•2 Eggs, beaten

•1 Tsp. Pure Vanilla

•1 Tsp. Baking Soda

•1 Tbsp. Cold Water

•2 Cups Flour

•1 Tsp. Baking Powder

•1 Tsp. Salt

•2 Cups Regular Oatmeal

•1 Cup Coconut

•1 Cup Spiced Gum Drops, chopped. (Here is the pain in the butt – have your guy widdle away at these for awhile while you and your Kitchenaid do the easy work. And use a sharp knife – choppers of any type gum up and become useless – trust me.)

Cream shortening and sugars together.

In a separate bowl, beat eggs. Dissolve the soda into the cold water, then add soda mixture and vanilla to eggs. Blend together.

Combine the egg mixture with the sugar mixture.

Mix flour, baking powder and salt together and then stir into the creamed mixture.

Blend in coconut and incorporate. Finally, mix in the gum drops and make sure they are well distributed through the cookie dough.

Shape into small balls and place on a cookie sheet.

Bake 12 minutes (turning pan halfway to allow for even baking)

Let sit on pan for 1 minute – they come out really soft. Remove with thin spatula and cool on wire racks.

Enjoy with a big glass of milk, coffee or eggnog followed up with a kiss on the cheek from your very own PC.

Merry Christmas!

Heidi Lee

Care to Share?

